Categories :

Top 5 Highest Team Totals in IPL History

One aspect IPL is famous for is the high octane action. The tournament that happens for a month and a half every year garners record viewership from all parts of the world. IPL usually commences in the months of March-April and will continue till the end of May. This year too, IPL is beginning on the 9th of April and cricket lovers everywhere are all excited about it.

The tournament brings together the best players in the world and there is only one thing one can expect when the best of the best comes together- Carnage on the ground. IPL had always been famous for its record high scores and there have been many instances where the batsmen shredded out the last bit of dignities that the opposition bowlers had with their powerful destruction.

Check out some of those moments.

#1 Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2013: 263/5 vs Pune Warriors India

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) have never won the Indian Premier League title. But they have chalked up the two highest team totals ever in IPL history. 

After Pune Warriors India (PWI) captain Aaron Finch won the toss and pronounced to bowl, Chris Gayle lodged the highest individual score in the history of IPL. Chris Gayle scored an unbeaten 175 off in just 66 deliveries. His knock featured 13 fours and 17 sixes at Chinnaswamy. RCB ended up scoring a gigantic of 263/5.

However, Pune Warriors India managed to score 133/9 in the assigned 20 overs leading the way for Bangalore to set the biggest and highest IPL victory in terms of runs (130).

#2 Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2016: 248/3 vs Gujarat Lions

The second highest IPL team total is again recorded by Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) against Gujarat Lions (GL). RCB scored a massive of 248/3 in its hometown.

Batting first, Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers scored centuries 109 and 129* respectively. Virat-de Villiers made a record partnership of 229 runs in 16 overs. De Villiers smashed 129* off 52 deliveries with 10 fours and 12 hits. Virat made a brilliant knock of 109 in 55 deliveries with 5 fours and 8 sixes.

In the chase, Gujarat Lions (GL) surrendered for just 104 all out in 18.4 overs.

#3 Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2010: 246/5 vs Rajasthan Royals

Chennai Super Kings’ team total stood as the third-highest in the IPL tournament. Scoring 246 runs against Rajasthan Royals (RR) in 2010 they put on a show for the spectators that day.

MS Dhoni won the toss and decided to bat, Murali Vijay, stole the show making 127 off 56 deliveries with 8 fours and 11 sixes. His partner Morkel on the other end of the crease scored 62 off 34 deliveries.

In the chase of the massive total, RR made a brave and neat performance of 223/5 with Naman Ojha’s mesmerizing 94 and Watson’s 60 off 25 deliveries. The team ended up losing the game but made the day for all.

# 4 Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2018: 245/6 vs Kings XI Punjab

In 2018, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) emerged as the team with the fourth-highest team total in IPL surpassing CSK’s record. KKR managed to score 245/6 against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP).

KXIP skipper, KL Rahul won the toss and elected to field. KKR’s dashing opener Sunil Narine destroyed Punjab bowling to score 75 off 36 balls and skipper Dinesh Karthik’s support of 50 off 23 deliveries. Andre Russel joined in the destruction with 31 runs off 14 balls.

In reply, Rahul and Gayle started great enough before the wickets began to fall. However, KXIP managed to score 214/8 in assigned 20 overs as KKR won by 31 runs.

# 5 Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2008: 240/5 vs Kings XI Punjab

In the second match of the inaugural edition of the IPL tournament, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) made a massive total of 240/5 remaining as the fifth-highest team total.

It was the first match of MS Dhoni-led CSK and made their mark in the first-ever IPL game. Michael Hussey made CSK reach the massive total with his blistering 116 off 54 deliveries having 8 fours and 9 sixes.

In response, Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) gave a massive fight and stopped at 207/4 in its 20 over innings. Kumar Sangakkara’s quick fifty gave hopes to KXIP but it could not continue for long and as a result, CSK registered a 33-run victory.

IPL carries many such moments, and we expect that IPL 2021 that begins on the 9th of April will have them too. Witness the greatest of Cricket tournaments from the comfort of your home. Watch IPL 2021 Live Streaming on YuppTV from Continental Europe, Australia, Sri Lanka, and South East Asia (except Malaysia and Singapore).